Roundhouse

Tucked next to the Birmingham New Main Line Canal, the Roundhouse is a horseshoe-shaped building, constructed in 1874. It was designed by architect WH Ward as stables and stores, serving as the base for the City’s lamplighters and the horses of the Public Works department.

Unlike most of the neighboring Victorian architecture, this curious building survived the centuries and in 1976 was given a Grade II* listing due to its historic importance. But by the early 2000s, it had begun to fall into disrepair. Now, thanks to a partnership between the Canal & River Trust and the National Trust, a £2.5m National Lottery Heritage Fund grant and funding from Historic England the Roundhouse is being revived.

In 2020 the Roundhouse will open to the public as an exciting new destination for Birmingham. It will be a place to meet, to work, and a base from which to explore the City and its history – by foot, by bike and by water.

 

Amazon Fulfillment Center

Amazon.com, Inc., is an American multinational technology company based in Seattle, Washington that focuses on e-commerce, cloud computing, digital streaming, and artificial intelligence. It is considered one of the Big Four technology companies along with Google, Apple, and Facebook. (Wikipedia)

Mill Girl

The Mill Girl by Antoinette Prien Schultze in Manchester New Hampshire. Like many towns on the Merrimack River in New England they experienced immense growth from the Industrial Revolution in particular the textile industry. The textile mills were one of the first to employ women on a massive scale. This statue represents those women who are largely forgotten as a key factor in Americas explosive growth.

Buffalo Niagara Heritage Village: Blacksmith Shop

The blacksmith provided one of the most important services in the community. He was able to make or repair nearly everything that was made of iron. While many blacksmith shops were larger, this replica C. 1899 shop is typical of the smaller, one-man smiths found on farms. Demonstrations are performed at the BNHV by members of the New York State Designer Blacksmith organization.

Captured by: siteview

Library

Learn More About HistoryView VR

Belgenny Farm Creamery

In 1795 a large herd of wild cattle was found grazing on the southern side of the Nepean River, thriving without human help. They were the progeny of two bulls and four cows that had wandered off from Sydney Cove in 1788. This is why the district became known as ‘the Cowpastures’, and it was here that John Macarthur was granted 5,000 acres of land in 1805.

Macarthur’s grant, initially known as ‘Camden’ and later as ‘Camden Park’, remained with the family for nearly 170 years. As the estate grew, much of the land was tenanted but the family retained portions for their own use, including the ‘Home Farm’. What we now call ‘Belgenny Farm’ was the center of the Home Farm.

From the mid-1830s the family lived at Camden Park House about 2km away. In the English tradition of great country houses, the Home Farm supplied them with fresh produce and directly involved them in farming, independent of their many tenant farmers on the wider estate.

Camden Park and Belgenny Farm have been at the center of one of Australia’s most enduring agricultural stories.

From humble beginnings in 1805 with the grant of 5,000 acres in an area previously beyond the settlement of Sydney, the estate grew to a group of farms totaling 27,693 acres over much of what is present-day Camden and its southern surrounds.

At its peak, the Camden Park had nine dairies and provided milk and fruit for a growing population in Sydney and was maintaining the lead in best practice and innovative agricultural methods for wool production and viticulture.

Camden Park has played an important role for generations in the form of Camden Vale Milk Bar, School Milk and the Rotolactor as well as the development of the townships of Camden and Menangle. The Macarthur family involved with the estate and what is now Belgenny have many amazing stories. You can read their stories by following the links on this site. (Belgenny Farm) Captured by: 3D Insights

Library

Learn More About HistoryView VR

Caterpillar Visitor Center & Museum

The Caterpillar Visitor Center & Museum is a fascinating look at the company, the iron and the people making sustainable progress possible around the world. From the humble beginnings of the first tractor to the company’s present-day leadership in building infrastructure and powering the planet — it’s all right here on Peoria’s beautiful riverfront. We invite you to experience Caterpillar like never before and plan your visit today. Captured by: AerialMG

Library

Learn More About HistoryView VR

Bruentrup Heritage Farm

The Bruentrup Heritage Farm was established in 1891. William Bruentrup married Ida Wagner and the bride’s family gave them 40 acres of land along White Bear Avenue as a wedding present. They added land until it reached 175 acres. Four generations of the family have farmed there. The farmhouse was somewhat modernized in 1912.

Over the years the surrounding land was being developed. A large part of the Bruentrup property had been sold, including the many acres where Maplewood Mall is now located. In 1997 the developers offered the Bruentrup family a very good price for their land. The Bruentrup’s offered the City of Maplewood the first chance to buy it. The City sent out a questionnaire to the citizens of Maplewood. The responses were very positive to the idea of saving the farm in that location.

Maplewood Area Historical Society
The newly formed Maplewood Area Historical Society became interested at that time. Private citizens and local businesses were sent pledge forms. The Historical Society raised over $20,000, but time was running out and the developers purchased the property. A group of Society members convinced our State Legislators to carry a bill to fund the moving of the farm buildings on to City-owned Open Space. The bill passed with the help of many citizen lobbyists.

btf.jpg

The farm buildings were moved in 1999. The house, barn, granary, machine shed and metal foundry building and 1 hundred years of farming artifacts were all moved to 2 1/2 acres donated by the City. This land is adjacent to 25 acres of City-owned prairie preserve. This preservation effort was a winner of the Historic Preservation Award in the year 2000. Because of the hundreds of volunteers, individuals, local businesses, labor unions, and the Bruentrup family we have been able to get the house, some of the buildings and the grounds in excellent condition. The work will continue. We welcome visitors to the Bruentrup Farm which is located 2 blocks east of Maplewood Mall on County Road D. (Maplewood Area Historical Society) Captured by: Nienow Cultural Consultants

Library

Learn More About HistoryView VR

Valdez Railroad Tunnel

The Valdez Railroad Tunnel was hand-cut starting in 1905. Nine companies were battling to take advantage of the short route from the coast to copper country. Progress on the tunnel was interrupted and after a gun battle, construction halted and the tunnel was never finished. You can read about the tunnel and these events in Rex Beach’s novel, The Iron Trail. (Matterport)

Captured by: Sway Array Designs

Library

Learn More About HistoryView VR

Mount Rainier Railroad & Logging Museum

Located in the small town of Elbe in beautiful Washington State is a heritage railroad south of Mount Rainier National Park. Passengers enjoy steam train rides through the forest and across the glacial fed Upper Nisqually River to a museum located in Mineral, Washington. Museum exhibits offer a chance to explore a comprehensive collection of steam logging locomotives and discover the stories behind the pioneers of railroad logging camps in the early to mid-1900’s. Excursions and museum visits are scheduled on summer and fall weekends with thrilling holiday excursions each winter! (Mount Rainier Railroad & Logging Museum)

Library

Learn More About HistoryView VR